Tags

, , ,

Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula (Cassidy Jones Adventures, #1)Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula by Elise Stokes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Series: Cassidy Jones Adventures
Publisher:  JACE Publishing LLC
Release Date: December 13, 2010
Category: Young Adult
Setting: Seattle, WA
Author Website:  https://www.facebook.com/Cassidy.Jones.Adventures?ref=ts

About this series
Young boys grow up reading about Spider-Man. Who do young girls look up to? – Cassidy Jones. Cassidy is a great role model but she is also realistic. Young girls can relate to fourteen year old Cassidy’s struggles as a normal girl but they can also find strength and courage in Cassidy’s superhero side as she battles evils and solves mysteries.

About this book:
Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is the first novel in the series. I don’t often read young adult books about kids under 16 – I don’t know why but that has always seemed my cutoff. However, I found the prologue for this first Cassidy Jones novel intriguing enough to keep me reading and I’m sure glad I did.

This is a classic superhero tale. Accompanying her reporter dad while he interviews a scientist, Cassidy is exposed to chemicals that give her superhero powers. Much like any teenager girl Cassidy struggles with anything that makes her different from the rest and initially sees these powers as a curse. But in the course of helping a friend solve a mystery Cassidy begins to see a positive side to her powers and how she can use her extra abilities for good.

Cassidy learns that what makes her unique also enables her to see the world in a new way.  And isn’t that what we should all do? Not just out teenage daughters but even as grown women. We all need to find that uniqueness within ourselves and learn not to hide it but to empower it. Cassidy is learning that lesson at fourteen. I wish I had.

On a side note:
Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is currently free on Amazon and BN.  I read this entire book on my smart phone via the Amazon Kindle Cloud app.  While I’ll never give up printed books completely, I did love the fact that whenever I had a spare minute to read – no matter where I was – I always had something to read. Because let’s face it who goes anywhere without their cell phone these days?

If you’d like to try reading an ebook on your smart phone, I couldn’t recommend a better book to try than a Cassidy Jones Adventure.

Book #2: Cassidy Jones and Vulcan’s Gift
Published:
December 4, 2011
This book picks up two months later as Cassidy struggles to live a double life with her new powers. A slumber party at the zoo brings her next adventure and mystery to solve.

Book #3: Cassidy Jones and the Seventh Attendant
Published: 
January 1, 2013
Gavin Phillips knows Cassidy’s secret and wants to expose her. Things are getting a lot more dangerous for our fifteen year old superhero.

Book #4: Cassidy Jones and the Luminous
Published:  Coming 2014

 

