Tags

, , , , ,

Sweet Venom (Medusa Girls #1)Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs is about three girls who are trying to get through high school, learning to deal with high school boys, and adjusting to the discovery that they are triplets who were separated at birth. Oh yeah, and they can see monsters.

The first novel in Childs’ new Medusa Girls series is told in first person while changing the voice with each chapter so that each of the three sisters – Grace, Greer, and Gretchen – get to give their point of view. Three more different girls you can’t imagine yet I think there is a piece of each of them that every girl will identify with. They are strong yet sensitive, intelligent yet innocent, and confident yet unsure. Like all of us they long to have someone who truly understands them. The hard part is your willingness to adjust your world when someone who does understand you suddenly walks into your life.

Childs does an excellent job in this story of slowly introducing one sister at a time to readers like you’d stir egg whites into a cake batter; never letting any of the sisters’ storylines go flat while rolling the next sister into the plotline. Throughout the entire novel I felt the tension building to a decisive climax that I knew was coming and yet I never saw the specific details of how it would happen until they all but hit me in the face in the final scene.

This is an excellent first novel for a series. Childs did a great job of resolving just enough of the questions so that I felt I was given a resolution and at the same time she pulled back the curtain on their future so that I could see a host of unanswered questions facing the three sisters ahead. Hold on, I think they are in for a bumpy ride. Sweet Shadows, the second book, is already available while Sweet Legacy is expected in 2013.

View all my reviews

