Tags

, , ,

One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, #1)One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Since the movie is about to come out I decide to reread One for the Money. I had to change my rating for four to five stars as Janet Evanovich nailed her main characters right out of the gate on this series.

Stephanie Plum’s ineptitude makes me feel intelligent in everything I do. I enjoy that she learns from her mistakes and keeps her sense of humor when the chips are down. Most importantly Stephanie acts like a real person. Unlike the horror movies when things go bump outside the blonde girl always goes outside alone to investigate, Steph is smart enough to be afraid and run the other way. There is always another time for a planned act.

Joe Morelli, her first FTA and former fling, is the perfect hero for this first novel. He is smart but not a perfect. He is in trouble with the law himself and a lot of people seem to want him dead or alive. Steph being one of them. The history between the two of them sets the stage for the series. Morelli makes Steph’s knees weak, and then Steph runs Morelli over with a car. It is a love/hate relationship with a lot of laughter, mystery and murder.

I’m looking forward to the movie to be released at the end of this month. I pray the movie producers get it right or there are going to be a lot of angry Stephanie Plum fans. And believe me, no one wants to upset Romance Readers. Trust me on this!

View all my Goodreads reviews

